October 18, 2017

:

The Scientist Medical Marijuana Documentary – 2015 -

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Why are Hemp Farmers Fed Up with Federal Seed Laws? -

Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Medical Minute: These Researchers are Developing a Weight Loss Medicine with Cannabis -

Friday, August 28, 2015

What Would a Trump Presidency Mean For Cannabis? -

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Oregon Court of Appeals Doesn’t Find the Smell of Cannabis Smoke to Be “Unpleasant” -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Government-Run Cancer Institute Quietly Acknowledges That Cannabis Kills Cancer Cells -

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Why Did This Pro Video Gaming League Ban Cannabis? -

Monday, August 24, 2015

4 Good Budtender Habits that Make for a Positive Customer Experience -

Saturday, August 22, 2015

If a Wildfire Spreads to a Cannabis Field, Can You Get High from It? -

Friday, August 21, 2015

8 Ways to Counteract a Too-Intense Cannabis High -

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Florida Keeps Fighting for Medical Marijuana: The Leafly Cannabis Legalization Roundup -

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Weekend Weirdness: Pigeon Caught Trying to Smuggle Cannabis into a Costa Rican Prison -

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Could Ohio Be the First to Legalize Cannabis in the Midwest? -

Monday, August 17, 2015

VapRwear’s Vaporizer Hoodie And Vape Pen Review -

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Portland Advertising Federation On Building A Brand For Your Cannabis Business -

Friday, August 14, 2015

Next Portland NORML Meeting Features Hempcrete Demo With Hemp Ace Int’l -

Thursday, August 13, 2015

People Are Not Happy About Proposed Alaska Marijuana Regulations -

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Ending Job Discrimination Against Marijuana Consumers -

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Ganjapreneur Interviews Chloe Villano Of Colorado’s Clover Leaf University -

Monday, August 10, 2015

New Proposal Could Make It Easier To Research Medical Benefits Of Marijuana -

Saturday, August 8, 2015

Why are Hemp Farmers Fed Up with Federal Seed Laws?

6

Even though the cultivation of industrial hemp is now legal for research and development purposes in a number of states, farmers who are trying to revitalize the American hemp industry are facing myriad legal issues related to the acquisition of their most important resource: viable hemp seeds. These issues stem from the fact that although states may have legislation for growing industrial hemp, it is still illegal under federal law. For no reason that any sane person can comprehend, industrial hemp — with THC levels below 0.3% — is still classified as a Schedule I controlled substance.

For farmers, the problems start with finding sources of certified seed to plant. Because hemp has been illegal in the US for decades, there are practically no American sources for hemp seeds. For the few, small quantity domestic suppliers who exist, interstate shipping of seeds is so heavily regulated that it is virtually impossible to move them across state lines.

Read More: https://www.leafly.com/news/headlines/why-are-hemp-farmers-fed-up-with-federal-seed-laws

Share Button

Comments are closed.