August 23, 2017

:

The Scientist Medical Marijuana Documentary – 2015 -

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Why are Hemp Farmers Fed Up with Federal Seed Laws? -

Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Medical Minute: These Researchers are Developing a Weight Loss Medicine with Cannabis -

Friday, August 28, 2015

What Would a Trump Presidency Mean For Cannabis? -

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Oregon Court of Appeals Doesn’t Find the Smell of Cannabis Smoke to Be “Unpleasant” -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Government-Run Cancer Institute Quietly Acknowledges That Cannabis Kills Cancer Cells -

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Why Did This Pro Video Gaming League Ban Cannabis? -

Monday, August 24, 2015

4 Good Budtender Habits that Make for a Positive Customer Experience -

Saturday, August 22, 2015

If a Wildfire Spreads to a Cannabis Field, Can You Get High from It? -

Friday, August 21, 2015

8 Ways to Counteract a Too-Intense Cannabis High -

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Florida Keeps Fighting for Medical Marijuana: The Leafly Cannabis Legalization Roundup -

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Weekend Weirdness: Pigeon Caught Trying to Smuggle Cannabis into a Costa Rican Prison -

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Could Ohio Be the First to Legalize Cannabis in the Midwest? -

Monday, August 17, 2015

VapRwear’s Vaporizer Hoodie And Vape Pen Review -

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Portland Advertising Federation On Building A Brand For Your Cannabis Business -

Friday, August 14, 2015

Next Portland NORML Meeting Features Hempcrete Demo With Hemp Ace Int’l -

Thursday, August 13, 2015

People Are Not Happy About Proposed Alaska Marijuana Regulations -

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Ending Job Discrimination Against Marijuana Consumers -

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Ganjapreneur Interviews Chloe Villano Of Colorado’s Clover Leaf University -

Monday, August 10, 2015

New Proposal Could Make It Easier To Research Medical Benefits Of Marijuana -

Saturday, August 8, 2015

The Medical Minute: These Researchers are Developing a Weight Loss Medicine with Cannabis

5

Imagine a world in which cannabis is listed as one of the key ingredients of a weight loss medicine. It may sound like an amusing irony to those of us easily afflicted by the munchies, but a recent study published in the journal Endocrinology suggests this idea isn’t so far off. Apparently, a mixture of vitamin A and cannabis constituents holds promise as the next solution for obesity.

“The results of our study show, for the first time, that particular compounds in cannabis and vitamin A can work together to reduce the deposit of lipids,” said researcher Dr. Yann Gilbert. “This finding opens up exciting opportunities to potentially treat obesity without the need for invasive surgery.”

Researchers discovered that by activating the body’s retinoic acid pathway with vitamin A and theendocannabinoid system with cannabis compounds, fat deposits were reduced in the cells of humans and chubby zebrafish. The synergy between the two systems is key, and researchers also note that this approach leaves the brain free of cannabis’ effects when administered in low doses.

With so many over-the-counter weight loss medicines posing dangers as “hidden ingredients”slip past FDA approval, it’s refreshing to see researchers pursuing solutions in the endocannabinoid system. We’re already clued in to its role in appetite regulation and metabolic processes, and given the fact there have been exactly zero fatal overdoses from cannabis, why not harness what this plant offers us?

If all goes well, the study authors predict this cannabis-based medicine will be developed and ready for human use in the next five years.

Source: https://www.leafly.com/news/health/the-medical-minute-these-researchers-are-developing-a-weight-loss

Share Button

Comments are closed.