October 18, 2017

:

The Scientist Medical Marijuana Documentary – 2015 -

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Why are Hemp Farmers Fed Up with Federal Seed Laws? -

Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Medical Minute: These Researchers are Developing a Weight Loss Medicine with Cannabis -

Friday, August 28, 2015

What Would a Trump Presidency Mean For Cannabis? -

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Oregon Court of Appeals Doesn’t Find the Smell of Cannabis Smoke to Be “Unpleasant” -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Government-Run Cancer Institute Quietly Acknowledges That Cannabis Kills Cancer Cells -

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Why Did This Pro Video Gaming League Ban Cannabis? -

Monday, August 24, 2015

4 Good Budtender Habits that Make for a Positive Customer Experience -

Saturday, August 22, 2015

If a Wildfire Spreads to a Cannabis Field, Can You Get High from It? -

Friday, August 21, 2015

8 Ways to Counteract a Too-Intense Cannabis High -

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Florida Keeps Fighting for Medical Marijuana: The Leafly Cannabis Legalization Roundup -

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Weekend Weirdness: Pigeon Caught Trying to Smuggle Cannabis into a Costa Rican Prison -

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Could Ohio Be the First to Legalize Cannabis in the Midwest? -

Monday, August 17, 2015

VapRwear’s Vaporizer Hoodie And Vape Pen Review -

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Portland Advertising Federation On Building A Brand For Your Cannabis Business -

Friday, August 14, 2015

Next Portland NORML Meeting Features Hempcrete Demo With Hemp Ace Int’l -

Thursday, August 13, 2015

People Are Not Happy About Proposed Alaska Marijuana Regulations -

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Ending Job Discrimination Against Marijuana Consumers -

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Ganjapreneur Interviews Chloe Villano Of Colorado’s Clover Leaf University -

Monday, August 10, 2015

New Proposal Could Make It Easier To Research Medical Benefits Of Marijuana -

Saturday, August 8, 2015

Why Did This Pro Video Gaming League Ban Cannabis?

1

Drug policies are nothing new in the world of professional sports. Last year we highlighted theNFL’s changes to its cannabis policy and how the organization is facing increased pressure to allow its players to use medical marijuana. While one of America’s most beloved sports is starting to consider easing up on its drug restrictions, a sport you might least expect to ban cannabis has done just that.

Last week, the Electronic Sports League (ESL) issued its “anti-doping policy,” which includes a comprehensive list of banned substances. Although the policy was prompted by certain players using Adderall as a performance-enhancing drug, cannabis was also banned.

ESL’s head of communications Anna Rozwandowicz commented in a post on Reddit that marijuana is banned during the competition, but players are allowed to consume outside (before) event days. Compliance will be enforced by using swab tests which will be randomly administered throughout the competition. If a player fails his or her test, s/he could be subject to loss of prize money, disqualification, or outright ban from all ESL events.

While I support the league working to limit the use of performance-enhancing drugs, I’m concerned about how this policy could affect patients. If a player is a registered patient in a medical cannabis state, this could prohibit him or her from accessing the medication needed during the competition. The league makes no distinction between CBD-only and high-THCstrains, and doesn’t account for medical need in their policy.

It’s great to see the ESL advancing the sport of electronic gaming, but I hope they’ll revisit their cannabis policy to ensure it accounts for the well-being of all players, including medical cannabis patients.

Source:  https://www.leafly.com/news/headlines/why-did-this-pro-video-gaming-league-ban-cannabis

Share Button

Comments are closed.