October 18, 2017

:

The Scientist Medical Marijuana Documentary – 2015 -

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Why are Hemp Farmers Fed Up with Federal Seed Laws? -

Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Medical Minute: These Researchers are Developing a Weight Loss Medicine with Cannabis -

Friday, August 28, 2015

What Would a Trump Presidency Mean For Cannabis? -

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Oregon Court of Appeals Doesn’t Find the Smell of Cannabis Smoke to Be “Unpleasant” -

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Government-Run Cancer Institute Quietly Acknowledges That Cannabis Kills Cancer Cells -

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Why Did This Pro Video Gaming League Ban Cannabis? -

Monday, August 24, 2015

4 Good Budtender Habits that Make for a Positive Customer Experience -

Saturday, August 22, 2015

If a Wildfire Spreads to a Cannabis Field, Can You Get High from It? -

Friday, August 21, 2015

8 Ways to Counteract a Too-Intense Cannabis High -

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Florida Keeps Fighting for Medical Marijuana: The Leafly Cannabis Legalization Roundup -

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Weekend Weirdness: Pigeon Caught Trying to Smuggle Cannabis into a Costa Rican Prison -

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Could Ohio Be the First to Legalize Cannabis in the Midwest? -

Monday, August 17, 2015

VapRwear’s Vaporizer Hoodie And Vape Pen Review -

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Portland Advertising Federation On Building A Brand For Your Cannabis Business -

Friday, August 14, 2015

Next Portland NORML Meeting Features Hempcrete Demo With Hemp Ace Int’l -

Thursday, August 13, 2015

People Are Not Happy About Proposed Alaska Marijuana Regulations -

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Ending Job Discrimination Against Marijuana Consumers -

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Ganjapreneur Interviews Chloe Villano Of Colorado’s Clover Leaf University -

Monday, August 10, 2015

New Proposal Could Make It Easier To Research Medical Benefits Of Marijuana -

Saturday, August 8, 2015

Weekend Weirdness: Pigeon Caught Trying to Smuggle Cannabis into a Costa Rican Prison

2

You may not typically pay pigeons much attention outside of giving them the occasional suspicious side-glance whenever they try to surreptitiously cozy up to you and your delicious lunch crumbs, but their innate homing ability has made these seemingly nondescript birds ideal for carrying messages across large distances. Messenger pigeons date as far back as 1150 AD, and they’ve been used to transport items as varied as messages, unbreakable vials, and, most recently, cannabis. 

That’s right, recently a pigeon was busted at a prison in Costa Rica while trying to smuggle in a pound of cocaine and cannabis that were attached to a pouch affixed to its chest. The guards caught wise to the pigeon’s schemes when they noticed it was sporting a bird-sized fanny pack. Said prison director Paul Bertozzi:

“They observed the bulge on the animal so they captured it and confirmed that it carried a bag with zipper — and the drugs were inside. It seems the dove was trained for it. “We have a warning that this method can be used again as it is not the first time in the history of La Reforma that a pigeon was detected with drugs.”

Apparently not — it’s becoming more common to see homing pigeons being used as drugmules birds because they’re easy to train and have good navigation skills. There have been reports that drug runners in Afghanistan have used hundreds of pigeons to fly heroin into Pakistan, and pigeons have also been caught attempting to deliver cocaine and cannabis to Colombian prisoners.

Clearly we’ve been overlooking yet another disenfranchised group that’s fallen victim to the ongoing War on Drugs. Won’t someone think of the pigeons? (Also, which strain do you think pigeons prefer to transport? My guess is Tyson since the former heavyweight champion is anoted pigeon lover.)

Source: https://www.leafly.com/news/headlines/weekend-weirdness-pigeon-caught-trying-to-smuggle-cannabis-into-a

Share Button

Comments are closed.